Soy Food Challenge Fail: Back to Square One

Little N failed his soy food challenge yesterday, and because of his reaction (10 hours of vomiting) to Hot Cross Buns I made from scratch on Good Friday in which the only potential allergen was wheat, which we were home challenging, we are back to Square One.

His current diet eliminates wheat, milk and all milk products, eggs, soy, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, seeds of all kinds except flax (sunflower and sesame he is particularly allergic to), barley, quinoa, rye, pea, radish, eggplant, kiwi, chicken and all poultry, and I think I’m forgetting something and don’t have his list in front of me.

Big E looks very thin to both me and my husband, so we are strongly considering bringing back the allergen foods into our home, which have been eliminated for the past three months. I don’t want to risk his growth and nutritional well-being. I don’t want to hear that he is failing to thrive at his 4 year old checkup. I don’t want to hear that our elimination diet has done irreversible damage to him.

So now I have to go back to the drawing board to keep Little N safe from exposure, as none of my other methods besides total elimination have so far worked.  And I have to really put my nose to the grindstone (ow!) to with all seriousness learn cooking and baking without his allergens. No small order given the number of grains to which he is allergic. I thank God for coconut milk and Egg Replacer. And thank God there are meats he can eat. And thank God I can still nurse.

His doctor said yesterday that it is pointless to do more hospital challenges until he is older and home challenges at this point are too risky. So this is where we’ll be for some good while.

We won’t be leaving the kids in childcare at the church anymore – too risky. We don’t go to church coffee hour – same reason. I’m really dreading the prospect of school. I still cry when I go grocery shopping, both when I’m in the aisles reading labels and when I see the total ring up at the register.

But I know I’m not alone, sadly:

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND: Domestic Enemies of the Allergy Mom.

1 Comment

Filed under Food Allergies, Parenting

One response to “Soy Food Challenge Fail: Back to Square One

  1. Anna Niedbala

    Heartbreaking. So sorry it’s so hard right now. I thought of you today because I asked my husband to make us Ethiopian food (our favorite, but hard to come by in Germany). There is a bread/pancake called injera that is used to scoop up the all the food instead of using utensils that is made from teff flour. It kind of tastes like sourdough and is beginning to become more available with the whole Paleo movement. You can find lot’s of interesting recipes for wheat free baking with it., Maybe it would work, maybe not, but just in case you haven’t come across it, I thought you should know.

Leave a Reply

