A playlist as we “look for the helpers”

I haven’t known what to say about Boston. I have a very difficult time thinking about it or looking at images of it or reading the news about it. I keep thinking about September 11th and what we went through then. I keep thinking about my kids and my husband and how I would feel if it were them. I keep feeling my stomach falling. It seems that anything I would say would be too trivial, and I find myself distancing my thoughts and emotions from it so that I can keep going through my day. And I don’t want to appropriate this tragedy – as though it’s really truly mine the way it is for the Richard family or for the other families directly affected. I don’t want to insert myself that way. But it’s still overwhelming. I think Fred Rogers’ mom’s admonishment to “look for the helpers” is wonderful. I’m looking forward to checking out TED’s playlist of helpers. I hope this helps you, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A playlist as we “look for the helpers”

  1. lmacmillan

    Agreed, Jenny. I liked what Patton Oswalt said. The people who run to help will always outnumber the ones who create the tragedy. That is, at least, something.

Leave a comment